Duncan Keith elbow ratchets up intensity for Hawks-CanucksContinue reading.
Hawks’ Duncan Keith not happy with reporter’s line of questioning
Here’s the full audio of Duncan Keith’s postgame media session. The exchange in question begins at the 1:26 mark:
Blackhawks defenseman Duncan Keith got into a testy exchange with a Vancouver radio reporter following Monday’s loss to the Canucks. The reporter thought Keith should have been penalized for a two-handed stick swipe he took as Daniel Sedin finished his breakaway in the second period for the Canucks’ third goal. Here’s the complete exchange, which sparked a lot of discussion in Vancouver on Monday night:
Reporter: Can you talk about what happened after the Daniel Sedin goal?
Keith: Which one was that one?
Reporter: Third goal.
Keith: Third one? Um, we scored one goal after that, I think. And then the game ended 3-1.
Reporter: Right after the goal when you were on the ice, right after he scored.
Keith: They scored. I went off the ice and took a minus. I don’t know, what are you talking about?
Reporter: Just checking.
Keith: What did you see?
Reporter: Well, it looked like maybe there was a penalty that went undetected. You seemed a bit frustrated.
Keith: Oh, no, I don’t think there was anything. I think he scored a nice goal and the ref was right there. That’s what the ref saw. We should get you as a ref maybe, eh?
Reporter: Yeah, maybe.
Keith: First female referee?
Reporter: I can’t skate, though.
Keith: Can’t play probably either, right?
Reporter: No (laughing).
Keith: But you’re thinking the game like you know it? Yeah, see ya.
Karen Thomson, the reporter from 1040-AM Vancouver, tweeted after the game: “So I think my exchange with Duncan Keith is renewing the #Canucks #Blackhawks rivalry! Lol #heldmyown.”
On Tuesday morning, she followed that up with this: “Hockey is an emotional game and things are often said in the heat of the moment. I think this is what happened last night. I’ve moved on.”